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“Katie Beth’s Law”
State of Tennessee Requirements for Swimming Pool Alarms
Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-801 thru 807

Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-801. Short title.
This part shall be known and may be cited as "Katie Beth's Law."

Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-802. Part definitions.

For purposes of this part, unless the context otherwise requires:

(1) "Pool alarm™ means a device which emits a sound of at least fifty decibels (50 dB) when a person or an object
weighing fifteen pounds (15 Ibs.) or more enters the water in a swimming pool, but shall not include swimming protection
alarm devices designed for individual use, such as an alarm attached to a child that sounds when the child exceeds a
certain distance or becomes submerged in water;

(2) "Residential dwelling" means a one-family or two-family dwelling structure; and

(3) "Swimming pool" means any structure that is intended for swimming or recreational bathing and contains water over
thirty-six inches (36") deep, including, but not limited to, in-ground, aboveground, and on-ground swimming pools, hot
tubs and nonportable spas.

Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-803. Prominent sign by sellers of pools regarding alarm reguirement.

Each person, enterprise, agency or entity that sells swimming pools to the general public shall post in a prominent place a
sign, at least six inches (6") high and fourteen inches (14") wide, that reads as follows:

STATE LAW REQUIRES A POOL ALARM BE INSTALLED.

Tennessee Code Annotated 8§ 68-14-804. Alarm requirement in pools.
Each person, enterprise, agency or entity that purchases or acquires a swimming pool to be installed after January 1, 2011,
shall install and maintain a pool alarm before using or making available for use such swimming pool.

Tennessee Code Annotated 8§ 68-14-805. Alarm installation required for final approval of electrical wiring and for
building permit -- Offense.

() When an electrical inspection is required for approval of the wiring of a swimming pool, the electrical inspector shall
not give final approval for such electrical wiring unless a hard-wired swimming pool alarm has been properly installed or
the person, enterprise, agency or entity who has acquired the pool provides written proof that a battery-operated pool
alarm has been purchased.

(b) (1) No local government shall issue a building permit for the construction or substantial alteration of a swimming pool
located at a residential dwelling unless the project calls for a functioning swimming pool alarm to be installed prior to the
completion of the construction project.

(2) Itis an offense for any person, firm, association or corporation to knowingly accept a building permit for a swimming
pool located at a residential dwelling unless a functioning swimming pool alarm will be installed prior to the completion
of the construction project.

Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-806. Violations -- Punishment.
A violation of this part is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine only not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100).
Second and subsequent offenses shall be punishable by a fine only of not more than five hundred dollars ($500).

Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-14-807. Exceptions.
This part shall not apply to public swimming pools or multi-family residential housing swimming pools, as defined in §
68-14-302.
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